Take It to Heart

Take It to Heart
Theme of the week: Get More out of the Bible
Thursday, March 29, 2012

Key Bible Verse: I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you. (Psalm 119:11) Dig Deeper: Psalm 119:9-16

The best way for me to remember things is to write them down. When I write something down, that particular thing is engraved more deeply in my memory, much deeper than if I had only read it once. I might not even have to refer to what I wrote down later, but I will likely still remember it.

It is a good practice to keep a journal or notebook with your Bible. When you study the Scriptures and a passage speaks to you, write down whatever God shows you. Maybe that nugget of thought won’t be useful to you in that moment, but the next day, or even a month later, it may be just what you need.

Once a verse or passage of Scripture is ingrained in your memory, it will always be there to use or draw on. Undoubtedly, there will be times when the verse you memorized pays great dividends. It may bring comfort to your heart or strength in a time of intense temptation.

Although it is good to carry a Bible in your briefcase or backpack, by far the best place to carry God’s Word is in your heart. You will never regret it.

Greg Laurie in Let God Change Your Life

My Response: When has a Bible verse popped into my head and helped me make a wise decision or kept me from giving in to temptation?

Thought to Apply: The Bible was not given to increase our knowledge but to change our lives.—D. L. Moody(evangelist)

Adapted from Let God Change Your Life (David C. Cook, 2011) by permission. All rights reserved by the copyright holder and/or the publisher.

Prayer for the Week
Lord, may I strive to not only read your Word regularly, but to also study it carefully and apply it more consistently.

Copyright © 2012 by Christianity Today/Men of Integrity magazine.
http://www.christianitytoday.com/moi/2012/002/march/29.29.html

Leave a Reply

