A Beautiful Act

A Beautiful Act
Theme of the week: Holy Week: Our Servant-Savior
Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Key Bible Verse: So he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. (John 13:4, NIV) Dig Deeper: John 13:1-4

Jesus removed his outer garments, girded himself with a towel, poured water into the basin, and knelt before his disciples. Then he washed their dirty, grimy, and smelly feet.

I’ve studied and taught this story countless times. But it wasn’t until the other night that I recognized possibly the most important aspect of this story. You see, I had a dream that showed me something I’d never seen before.

In this dream, I saw one person washing another person’s feet. I realized I was in the presence of something indescribably beautiful. I don’t mean admirable or commendable; I mean transcendently magnificent. The man washing the feet seemed to be strong and distinguished. Yet at the same time, the one being served looked shrunken. Not unsightly, but undesirable by comparison.

When I awoke, I knew I had experienced an epiphany that shifted my perspective: Service isn’t just a kind act. Service is an indescribably beautiful picture of Jesus.

In the following days, whenever I observed an act of service, even something as small as opening a door for someone, I thought, That was a beautiful act.

Bill Perkins in The Jesus Experiment

My Response: I will reflect on what it means that Jesus’ act of humble service was “transcendently magnificent.”

Thought to Apply: Christ is the humility of God embodied in human nature; the Eternal Love humbling itself, clothing itself in the garb of meekness and gentleness to win and serve and save us.—Andrew Murray (South African writer, teacher, pastor)

Adapted from The Jesus Experiment (Tyndale, 2011) by permission. All rights reserved by the copyright holder and/or the publisher.

Prayer for the Week
Dear Father, help me to slow down and think deeply and often about the truth that “the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many” (Mark 10:45).

Copyright © 2012 by Christianity Today/Men of Integrity magazine.
http://www.christianitytoday.com/moi/2012/002/april/4.4.html

Leave a Reply

